Sunday, May 15, 2011


The Goa, Daman and Diu Official Language Act, 1987 makes Konkani in the Devanagari script the sole official language of Goa, but provides that Marathi may also be used "for all or any of the official purposes". The Government also has a policy of replying in Marathi to correspondence received in Marathi. Whilst there have been demands for according Marathi and Konkani in the Roman script co-equal status in the state, As of October 2008, Konkani remained the sole official language.
Konkani is spoken as a native language by about 61.21% of the people in the state. Other linguistic minorities in the state as of 1991 are Marathi(27.12%), Kannada (3.41%), Urdu (2.81%), and Hindi (2.09%). The Portuguese language, which was used during the colonial era, is less popular now.

No comments:

Post a Comment